About Us


Marne Elk Horn Telephone Company is based in Elk Horn, Iowa and provides reliable, affordable and high quality communications and entertainment services. Our staff is here to help the customers of Elk Horn, Kimballton, Exira, Marne, Brayton, Atlantic and Audubon with internet, television and telephone needs. Over the course of 100+ years, METC has experienced many changes in the evolving world of technology, but we have continued to learn, grow and offer exceptional service to assure that our customers will continue to stay connected. We are your local connection to it all.


Staff

Janell J. Hansen - General Manager, janell@metc.net
Jill Madsen - Office Manager, jill@metc.net
Sue Mardesen - Customer Service, sue @metc.net
Janice Greve - Customer Service, janice@metc.net
Michelle Jens - Customer Service, mjens@metc.net
Bruce Poldberg - Plant Manager, bruce@metc.net
Jim Lindgren - Internet Manager, jim@metc.net
James Bieker - Central Office Technician, james@metc.net
Jimmy McCarthy - Outside Plant, jimmy@metc.net
Noel Leistad - Internet Systems Administrator, noel@metc.net
Jordan Hansen - Plant, Media, jordan@metc.net
 


Board of Directors

Bryan Clemsen - President, Brayton

Devin Moeller - Vice President, Marne

Larry Petersen - Treasurer, Elk Horn

Bernard Kaltoft - Secretary, Kimballton

Terry Petersen - Elk Horn

Peggy Leader - Elk Horn

Eric Juelsgaard - Kimballton

Rex Sievers - Walnut

Daniel Petersen - Walnut

 


History

The Marne & Elk Horn Telephone Co. was officially incorporated in February of 1903, although the first organization meeting was held in December of 1902.   The first meeting was held at the Clay Center School where the first officers were elected. The first principal place of business of the Company was Rorbeck, and was later moved to Elk Horn. The first line was strung from Marne to Elk Horn via Rorbeck--hence the name became the Marne & Elk Horn Telephone Company.  Kimballton received service in 1904 and Brayton was added next. 

Most people would not think a community of 650 residents would be home to one of the most progressive rural phone companies in the state. When the larger towns were still on party lines, Elk Horn residents were enjoying our own private calls.  This company has allowed many of the small businesses in town to prosper and grow due to outstanding service.  They provided fiber optics to our school when county seat towns were just thinking about it.

METC has been providing quality telecommunications services to their customers for over 100 years. They have always provided state of the art technology along with personalized customer service.  Marne Elk Horn is a part owner in two cellular partnerships and Iowa Network Services.  They give their customers the most current services at reasonable rates.  The business offices are located in Elk Horn, Iowa, just 7 miles North of Interstate 80 and home of the Danish Windmill and Danish Immigrant Museum.

In 2012, METC began an aggressive multi-year build out of fiber optics to each home and business.  Fiber Optics will provide ultra-high speed Internet enabling customers to work from home and operate businesses world-wide.  Fiber will also be an economic development tool for our rural communities.  

The Company employs 11 full-time people who live and work in their communities.  The Company is a locally-owned, shareholder corporation with an active board of directors that believes in promoting the communities it serves.